My First True Love – Part 5

Click here to read the previous installments.

From last I left, Anne had just violently ripped my heart out, passed it to Gwen who then dunked it in the trash. Gwen was pretty annoyed, but it didn’t take long for the lines of communications to open back up again. You’d think that’d I’d come to her, but that’s not true. By the end of the week, I get another Facebook message, and guess who sent it.

“Hi” she said, subtly, knowing full well that she did wrong. To be honest, I never really saw it. I thought it was a long overdue burst of tension that was at the fault of no one, yet when she contacted me again, there that over-hanging sense of guilt.

I played it cool, though, as to not show weakness, “ hello.”

“I’m sorry about the other day.”

“Okay.”

“I didn’t mean what I said. I hope you’re not mad at me.”

“Okay.”

I was still trying to play it cool. The hope of my relentless “okays” would cause another spark to allow some back-story to flood into the open, just so I could make sense of the situation.

“Do you not want to talk?”

“No, it’s fine.”

“Are you mad.”

“Kinda.”

“I’m sorry.”

“I know.”

Long and visual boring conversation later, we finally made up. She was just lonely and stressed, (as was I, but that took some great effort to admit and not seem smug about my lack of psychotic rampage). We talked just as always. We were good friends, great friends, if not best friends. This person, who I had not shared a room with for years (and even then didn’t’ talk) who now, probably, the most important person in my life.

In fact, we became so comfortable together, that she came up with this great idea. Looking back on it now, knowing how this whole story ends, I can see her thinking behind it, and it was not at all something I would’ve ever considered at the time. She said we should take a trip together.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. Being only in year 10, a 15 year old, traveling with a 14 year old… well, that’s pretty much asking for a homicidal mugging. Of course, that was only the initial idea, the “dream”, if you will, but that was never going to happen. It turned out more to be a visit.

She had just recently won tickets to a festival called the Sonisphere, the biggest heavy metal festival in the UK. As she was too young to go on her own, seen as her parents would definitely not go, she asked me if I could accompany her. By then I would be 16, and legal able to accompany her as a pseudo-mature adult.

Well, I was all set. Ideas began to run through my head. I began to image a trip, starting of innocent enough that would end with of story of such love and passion that I’ll remember it in my dying days. While it didn’t end in love and passion… at all, it’ll still never, ever forget what happened.

Please Like, comment, and come back next week and read up about more of my recent thoughts, or check out my Facebook page, Twitter page or Amazon page for more updates.

All work is of the author’s credit and opinion and does not represent that of any social, political, or ethnic group. Images are by Afonso Lima, obtained by stock.xchng, edited by Roidh Andrasan, and all copyrights belong to them.

Leave a Comment